Sites Cleaner

Support

Q: What happens if I accidentally lock myself out of Tool for block sites?
A: If you have permanently locked yourself out of the Options menu with a password that you cannot remember, there is a secret failsafe password that will always work.
That password is sf3450sSDF3SDHKUT33f11sp

Q: I hid the Tool for block sites button, now how do I access the Options menu?
A: Click the Chrome options button (3 horizontal bars), then go to Tools->Extensions. You can re-display the SB button there, or access the Options menu directly.

Q: But what if I hid the SB button and blocked the Extensions menu?
A: In this case, we recommend uninstalling Tool for block sites, then reinstalling it, which will restore the default settings.
Click on the Chrome options button (3 horizontal bars), then go to Tools->Task Manager. You should be able to end the Tool for block sites process using that dialog. Then, go to Tools->Extensions, and uninstall Tool for block sites using the trash can icon.
When you reinstall Tool for block sites from the Chrome Web Store, the options will be reset to their defaults. We recommend not purposefully hiding the SB button and blocking the Extensions menu, at least not without a timer. Doing so permanently will lock you out of the Options menu as well as the Chrome Extensions menu.

Q: How exactly does the blocking mechanism work? Is it possible to accidentally block the Options menu?
A: Tool for block sites has safeguards built in to prevent users from accidentally blocking menus of the app itself, so that will never happen. That being said, the SB blocking mechanism gives users a great deal of power and flexibility in what they can specify on the blocklist. Tool for block sites will block a page if any part of the URL matches something listed on the blocklist. For example, putting "facebook.com" on the blocklist will not only block the actual Facebook website, but may also block a Google search for "facebook.com". Another example would be if you are a Facebook developer, you could block "www.facebook.com" and block the main Facebook website, but still access "developers.facebook.com". The blocking system is both flexible and powerful once you understand how it works.

Q: Is there a limit to the number of sites I can block?
A: No, you can specify an unlimited number of sites on your blocklist. Just separate each element on the list with a line break.

Q: Are my settings, blocklist, or browser history ever shared with the Tool for block sites developers?
A: No, never. Your browsing history and Tool for block sites settings never leave your local machine.

Q: Does Tool for block sites record any statistics on how many times it has blocked websites for me, etc?
A: Yes, if you open up the Options menu and scroll all the way to the bottom of the page, you will see a tally of how many times Tool for block sites has blocked a page for you. We are planning to improve upon this feature with more detailed analytics in the future.

Q: How do I report bugs or submit suggestions for new features?
A: The best way to get in touch with the developers about improvements is through our Chrome Web Store ticket system. If you submit your issue there, it will be visible to all other users and will be updated as the team works to implement the fix or feature.

Q: Will Tool for block sites ever be released for Firefox, Safari, Opera, or Internet Explorer?
A: Right now, the Tool for block sites team has chosen to concentrate their efforts on the development of the best possible product exclusively for Google Chrome. We have chosen Chrome because of its well supported API and dominant market share. However, if Tool for block sites increases enough in popularity, we will create a version for Firefox. Other browsers may also follow in time, but those releases are less likely.

Q: What if I have a question that wasn't answered here?
A: You can e-mail the development team with urgent support requests at alexsukrs@gmail.com
We try to respond to all issues within 24 hours.